Butler County Board of Elections Board Meeting Minutes August 8, 2023

The Butler County Board of Elections met on Tuesday, August 8, 2023, at 6:30 a.m., for the Special Election. Roll call was taken, and present were Chairman Frank Cloud, Member mariann penska, Member Todd Hall, Member Chris Wunnenberg III, Director Nicole Unzicker, Deputy Director Eric Corbin, and Poll Worker Administrator/Executive Assistant Melissa Trotta.

At 6:30 a.m. the Board met to order the opening of the polls for the August 8, 2023 Special Election.

There was a short discussion about the days and times when the election day board meeting can be open. Member penska suggested tabling it for a future meeting.

Member penska moved to go into recess; seconded by Member Hall. Roll Call:

Chairman Cloud yea
Member penska yea
Member Hall yea
Member Wunnenberg yea
All in favor; motion carried.

At 7:02 p.m. Chairman Cloud stated the Board is back in session.

The Board reconvened to observe the pre-tabulation test of the server and the unofficial canvass. Director Unzicker presented the opening zero report of the pre-tabulation test for the Board Members to sign. They also signed the summary report, which matched the expected results. Then, they signed the closing zero report on the pre-test and the opening zero report of the unofficial canvass showing zero votes on the tabulation server.

Director Unzicker presented the Manually Remade Ballots document. She informed the Board the document did not have a document number because it was not ready until the evening. Director Unzicker stated there are twenty-six UOCAVA voter ballots that were remade. She explained the ballots are emailed, but when the ballot is returned, it must be remade on the ballot paper in order for it to be scanned. She said nine other absentee ballots were remade due to being torn, ripped, or mutilated. Director Unzicker stated that she and Deputy Director Corbin reviewed all of the ballots. Member Hall moved to approve the remade ballots for tabulation, seconded by Member penska. Chairman Cloud asked if there were any comments or questions. Member Hall verified there were twenty-six UOCAVA ballots and nine other absentee ballots, with a grand total of thirty-five remade ballots. Roll Call:

Chairman Cloud yea
Member penska yea
Member Hall yea
Member Wunnenberg yea
All in favor; motion carried.

Deputy Director Corbin presented Document 1, Candidates to be Certified to the November 7, 2023, General Election. Deputy Director Corbin stated the candidates have met the statutory requirements to appear on the ballot. Member Hall moved to certify the candidates as listed on Document 1; seconded by Member penska. Roll Call:

Chairman Cloud yea
Member penska yea
Member Hall yea
Member Wunnenberg yea
All in favor; motion carried.



November 7, 2023 General Election Board Certification

Candidates

The following candidates have met the statutory requirements.

Certified My 8-8 M Admin. Sign & Date

Fairfield City Councilmember (4th Ward)

Adam Kraft

Middletown City Mayor

- Joe Mulligan
- Elizabeth Slamka

Middletown City Council Member at Large

- Clayton Castle
- Jeffrey L. Wellbaum
- Steven West II

Monroe City Council Member

- Michael Graves
- Thomas Hagedorn

Oxford City Council Member

- Jason Bracken
- Jon Ralinovsky
- Mike Smith

Trenton City Council Member

- Floyd Croucher
- Raymond Nichols
- Ryan D. Perry

Jacksonburg Village Mayor

Michael Sword (Write-in candidate)

Jacksonburg Village Council

- Jacqueline L. Brewer (Write-in candidate)
- Katelyn Lockaby (Write-in candidate)

Millville Village Council

- Rusty Jones
- Christopher MacDonald

Seven Mile Village Clerk Treasurer

T. Garrett Kehr

Page 1 of 3

Document 1

Seven Mile Village Council

Lara Askill

Fairfield Township Trustee

Joseph M. McAbee

Hanover Township Fiscal Officer

Greg Sullivan

Lemon Township Trustee

Kevin Robert Majors

Liberty Township Fiscal Officer

• Pamela Quinlisk

Milford Township Trustee (UTE 12/31/2025)

Michael F. Green

Ross Township Fiscal Officer

• Julie Joyce-Smith

Ross Township Trustee (FTC 1/1/2025)

Russell A. McGurrin

Ross Township Trustee (UTE 12/31/2025)

John Fisher

St. Clair Township Trustee (UTE 12/31/2025)

• John R. Snyder

Wayne Township Fiscal Officer

Laura M. Daley

West Chester Township Fiscal Officer

Bruce Jones

West Chester Township Trustee

Ann Becker

Butler County Education Service Center Governing Board Member

Benita E. Mudd

Edgewood City School District Board of Education Member

- Amy R. Ashcraft
- Michael Pressler

Hamilton City School District Board of Education Member

Robin Szary

Lakota Local School District Board of Education Member

Douglas Horton

Page 2 of 3 Document 1

Madison Local School District Board of Education Member

- Lee Corder
- Amy Black Jessee

Monroe Local School District Board of Education Member

- Dave GrantTom Leeds

New Miami Local School District Board of Education Member (FTC 1/1/2024)

Roy Chapman

New Miami Local School District Board of Education Member (UTE 12/31/2025)

Keeley Davidson

Ross Local School District Board of Education Member

- Brent E. GuentherPeter D. Meyer

Talawanda City School District Board of Education Member

- Ivan J. Carver
- Dawn King
- Kathleen Knight-Abowitz
- Andrew R. LangsnerChris Otto

Page 3 of 3 Document 1

Director Unzicker presented Document 2, Candidates to be Certified to the March 19, 2024, Primary Election. Director Unzicker stated the candidates have met the statutory requirements to appear on the ballot. Member penska moved to certify the candidates as listed on Document 2; seconded by Member Wunnenberg. Roll Call:

Chairman Cloud yea Member penska yea Member Hall yea Member Wunnenberg yea All in favor; motion carried.



March 19, 2024 Primary Election Board Certification

Candidate

The following candidate has met the statutory requirements.

Certified My 8-8-17

County Auditor (UTE 3/7/27)

• Nancy Nix - Republican

Page 1 of 1

Document 2

Deputy Director Corbin requested to change the time of the Haugust 16, 2023, meeting to 1:00 p.m. Member Hall moved to change the August 16, 2023, meeting to 1:00 p.m.; seconded by Member Wunnenberg. Roll call:

Chairman Cloud yea Member penska yea Member Hall yea Member Wunnenberg yea

Member Hall moved to go into Executive Session to discuss personnel according to O.R.C. 121.22(G)(1) at 7:15 p.m.; seconded by Member penska. Roll Call:

Chairman Cloud yea Member penska yea Member Hall yea Member Wunnenberg yea All in favor; motion carried.

At 7:59 p.m. Chairman Cloud stated the board is back in session.

Member penska moved to go	into recess; seconded by Member Wunnenberg. Roll Call:
Chairman Cloud	yea
Member penska	yea
Member Hall	yea
Member Wunnenberg	yea
All in favor; motion carried.	,
,,	
At 11:08 p.m. Chairman Cloud stated the Board is back in session.	
Director Unzicker presented	one ballot to the Board Members to review voter intent. Director
Unzicker explained that the "	'yes" or "no" oval was not marked, but there was something
written next to the "no" oval	. The Board Members reviewed the ballot and agreed the voter
cast a blank ballot. Member \	Wunnenberg made a motion to count the ballot as a blank ballot;
seconded by Member penska	a. Roll Call:
Chairman Cloud	yea
Member penska	yea
Member Hall	yea
Member Wunnenberg	yea
All in favor; motion carried.	
With no further business, Me	ember Wunnenberg moved to adjourn the meeting; seconded by
Member penska. Roll call:	
Chairman Cloud	yea
Member penska	yea
Member Hall	yea
Member Wunnenberg	yea
All in favor; motion carried.	
The meeting was adjourned a	at approximately 11:24 p.m.
	оррожиновог, грим
Frank Cloud, Chairman	Nicole Unzicker, Director
Todd Hall, Member	Chris Wunnenberg III, Member
,	
mariann penska, Member	_